RMNP License Plate Available January 1, 2016
New RMNP License Plate Available January 1
Estes Park—The new, much-anticipated Rocky Mountain National Park License Plate will be available January 1, 2016. The certificate for the issuance of the plate, which was approved by the Colorado General Assembly and signed into law by Governor Hickenlooper this past spring, will be available exclusively through the Rocky Mountain Conservancy. A minimum $30 one-time donation to the Conservancy’s License Plate Fund is required to qualify for this plate.
The Rocky Mountain Conservancy, Rocky Mountain National Park’s official nonprofit philanthropic partner, will administer the donation program for this new plate, which is available only to Colorado registered vehicle owners. 100% of the funds generated, estimated at more than $100,000, will directly support Rocky Mountain National Park. Use of these funds will be determined jointly by the Conservancy and Rocky Mountain National Park. Since 1985, the Conservancy has raised over $23 million for the park and supports trail construction and maintenance, land and historic preservation, education, publications, and more.
The new plate, designed by the Conservancy, features a bull elk under a starry evening sky with alpine sunflowers and reads, “Rocky Mountain National Park”. It will not replace the standard Colorado state license plate, but will be available as a voluntary fundraising option through the State’s Group Special Plate program.
To qualify a set of these plates, you must make a minimum $30 donation to the Rocky Mountain Conservancy’s License Plate Fund. Donations will be accepted beginning on January 1, 2016 at the Conservancy’s web site (www.RMConservancy.org) ntd7yss. License plate donations cannot be combined with gifts to other funds, prior donations, or Conservancy membership dues.
After a qualifying donation is received by the Conservancy, a license plate certificate will be mailed to the donor. To obtain your plates, present this certificate to your local county motor vehicle office. They will assess a $50 one-time fee in addition to other standard registration fees. All fees are due at the time of registration. Plates will be printed on demand and will be mailed directly to the donor, conveniently eliminating the need for a second visit to your county motor vehicle office.
For more information about the license plate program, including a handy list of Frequently Asked Questions, please visit the Rocky Mountain Conservancy’s web site: www.RMConservancy.org.